Importance of Rajayoga and It's 7 Parts

Importance of Rajayoga and It’s 7 Parts

Raj means the emperor. The emperor acts self-subordinate, with self-confidence and assurance. Similarly, a Rajyogi is also autonomous, independent and fearless. Raj-yoga is the path of self-discipline and practice.

Raja Yoga is organized into following (stages). They are: –

1. Yama

Yama is further divided into 5 parts


Ahimsa means not harming or harming any living creature with thoughts, words or behaviour. Non-violence does not mean killing. Death of an animal is necessary for meat-dietary food. According to this principle, yogis are vegetarian. Animals have an innate nature which increases the awareness of death hovering over them. They begin to think that he will be killed now and they become afraid of death. Hormones of fear and pressure start coming out of their entire body. These hormones live in the flesh of slaughtered animals and birds and are inadvertently eaten by individuals. Many apparently baseless apprehensions, fears, nervous diseases and emotions are at the root of this meal.


Always speaking the truth is good and right, but more important is how we speak the truth. We have the ability to speak the truth even as if someone has stabbed us, but we are also able to cover the same truth with dear words. Do not violate the principle of non-violence as stated above. We should pay attention to the advice of Mahaprabhuji, who said: “Every word of yours should fall from your lips like flowers”.

Being truthful also means not hiding your feelings, nor speaking or making excuses. Perhaps for some time, we hide the truth from other people, but there is at least one person who knows our inner truth, that is our own self, our own consciousness is a witness.


Asteya means that you never take something that is rightfully related to someone else. It means not only the stealing of material things but mental wealth, the abduction of a person’s opportunity, his hope or happiness. The exploitation of nature and destruction of the environment also fall in this category.


Brahmacharya is often translated as sexual grace. But it is more than that in reality. Brahmacharya means that our thoughts are always motivated towards God. This does not

mean that we neglect our duties in this world. On the contrary, we should carry out these responsibilities with extreme caution, but always keep in mind that “I am not the doer, God is the only doer”.


We should not collect things, but only get them, and use them as needed to survive. Those who have many things also have many concerns. We are born without bringing anything, and when we depart from this world, then we leave everything behind. Aparigraha also means giving other people their freedom – not holding them. On keeping them free, we also free ourselves. That is why giving freedom means self-liberation.

2. Niyama

Niyama is divided into 5 categories


Not only external purity but even more important is internal purity. Our clothes, our body, our thoughts and feelings should be pure like them. This is also true for those with whom we connect. It is very beneficial for our spiritual development that we keep the good company of those who have a good influence on us, who are spiritual and who support us with their wisdom.


The wealth we are capable of possessing is the greatest wealth satisfaction. The Indian poet Tulsidas has said: “You can keep mines of gold and other valuable pieces in your possession, but internal dissatisfaction destroys all wealth.” We can get satisfaction only when we know that all worldly goods bring dissatisfaction and inner wealth gives more happiness and happiness than material things.

Tap Aatama Niyantarana

When we are surrounded by adversity and obstacles in life, then we should never be desperate. Instead, we should continue with determination in our chosen path. Continuing the practice with self-discipline, patience and firm pledge – this is the key to success.


As aspirants of yoga, we should also get acquainted with the sacred texts of our traditional yoga philosophy such as Bhagavad Gita, Upanishads, Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras etc. These great texts provide us with valuable knowledge and help to go on the path of yoga.

Ishwar Paridhan

Whatever you do, surrender all the divine spirit to God with full devotion. God protects those who surrender themselves with faith and devotion.

3. Pranayama

Rajyogis also control the mind in the process of controlling the body and breathing. This awakens the inner powers that continue to guide the spiritual path.

4. Pratyahara

Yogis are able to operate their mind and senses in their internal and external direction as they wish. Like a tortoise brings its organs and head back to its body cover and then ejects. Once a controlled withdrawal is liberated from external conditions. Such a person can withdraw his senses from external objects immediately and can use the same senses with full awareness when he wishes.

5. Dharana

The meaning of perception is to bring one’s thoughts and feelings to a single object. Often we are able to do this only for a short time, then other thoughts come and distract us. We know the lack of concentration after a few minutes. Till we are not able to concentrate on any thought or object for any length of time under any circumstances, then it will be assumed that we have not yet become proficient in ‘dharna’.

6. Dhyana

All meditation methods are the primary exercise for true meditation. A person cannot learn to meditate, just as we cannot ‘learn’ from sleeping. Sleep occurs when our body is relaxed and relaxed. Meditation happens when the mind is peaceful. No imagination in mind, because imagination arises from the intellect. We compared the human brain can be a very powerful computer, which has a large storage capacity. All the data of the universe can be stored in it, but this ‘computer’ also has a limit. Our human brain can only reproduce what has been entered earlier. But in meditation, we feel pure. The moment the intellect is fixed and the individual ego becomes non-existent, divine light shines in our heart and we are absorbed with it.

7. Samadhi

Samadhi is the stage where the knower, knowledge and the known become one. The knower (practicing person), jnana (what is God) and the known (ie God) become one. It means that the person is attuned to the divine consciousness. Those who attain samadhi see a heavenly, bright light, hear the heavenly sound and see an infinite expanse within themselves. When samadhi is found, we become like a river that finally joins the sea after a difficult and long journey. A yoga teacher training course in India is a great way to learn more about yoga and meditation. If you want to become a certified yoga teacher then you can choose a yoga course from YogTravel and start your journey to mindfullness.